International Society for 
Theoretical Psychology 

About the international society for theoretical psychology

The International Society for Theoretical Psychology (ISTP) is an international forum for theoretical, meta-theoretical and philosophical discussions in psychology, with a focus on contemporary psychological debates. Founded in the early 1980s, its objective is to stimulate theoretical arguments and innovations, to foster integration across areas and traditions of research, and to promote interdisciplinary and transdisciplinary approaches to psychological questions. It aims to serve as the stage for the discussion of new theoretical ideas and conceptual frameworks, for the critical engagement of different theoretical approaches, and for discussions concerning the relation of theoretical psychology to other disciplines, to the history of psychology and to the philosophy of knowledge. Conferences are held biennially, and since its first, founding conference in Plymouth (England), ISTP conferences have been held in the West, e.g., Worcester (USA) and Bierville (France), the east, e.g., Nanjing (China), the north, e.g., Banff (Canada) and Berlin (Germany), and the south, e.g., Cape Town (South Africa) and Santiago (Chile), with the next conference being in Tokyo (Japan) in 2017. The interests of the ISTP span sub-areas of psychology. It has members whose primary interests pertain to cognitive, social, feminist, postcolonial, developmental, clinical, perceptual, biological and evolutionary psychology. The ISTP has about 200 paying members, spread across six continents. While currently the majority of its members are located in Europe and North America, one of the Society’s aspirations is to further widen its global representation and membership. Full members automatically receive Theory & Psychology. The journal's editorial policy converges with the objectives of ISTP.

The ISTP Executive

The ISTP Executive is elected every two years. From August 2017 till August 2019 the members of the ISTP Executive are: 

Paul Stenner, The Open University, United Kingdom

President Elect

Antonia Larrain, Universidad Alberto Hurtado, Chile

Past President

H. Lorraine Radtke, University of Calgary, Canada


Mandy Morgan, Massey University, New Zealand (2nd term)


James Cresswell, Ambrose University, Canada (3rd term)


Ramiro Tau, Université de Genève, Switzerland (Coordinator)

Constance de Saint-Laurent, Université de Neuchâtel, Switzerland

Evan Shillabeer, University of Alberta, Canada (Newsletter)
Susannah Mulvale, York University, Canada (Website)

Members at Large

Maria Gurevich, Ryerson University, Canada (2nd term)
Andres Haye, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile, Chile (1st term)
Tetsuya Kono, Rikkyo University, Japan (1st term)
Catriona Macleod, Rhodes University, South Africa (1st term)
Morten Nissen, University of Aarhus, Denmark (1st term)
Ernst Schraube, Roskilde University, Denmark (2nd term)
Tania Zittoun, Université de Neuchâtel, Switzerland (1st term)

Ex officio

Rachel Falmagne, Clark University, United States of America
Kieran O'Doherty, Editor, Theory & Psychology, University of Calgary, Canada

Student Representative

Susannah Mulvale, York University, Canada (2nd term)

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software